Prospero's Bookshelf

Trumpets Sounding 1972 Edited Norman Philbrick

Regular price $24.50

Trumpets Sounding is a collection of seven Propaganda Plays of the American revolution edited in 1972 by Norman Philbrick.

A 25 page essay by Professor Philbrick provides an excellent introduction to the historical aspects of the plays as well as to their dramatic composition. As history the plays reveal our evolution from Colony to New Nation.

The plays include:
A Dialogue, Between a Southern Delegate and His Spouse, on His Return from the Grand Continental Congress (1774)
The Fall of British Tyranny; or, American Liberty Triumphant (1776)
The Blockheads: or, The Affrighted Officers (1776)
The Battle of Brooklyn, A Farce of Two Acts (1776)
The Death of General Montgomery, In Storming the City of Quebec (1777)
The Patriots, A Comedy in Five Acts (1778)
The Motley Assembly, A Farce (1779)

This book is in good vintage condition--strong, firm binding, a little foxing, no shelf wear, no tears, some scattered marginal notes in three of the plays. There is no dust jacket. This a First Edition hard cover book.

The book measures 6 3/4 inches by 10 1/8 inches by 1 1/2 inches, and there are 367 pages.

Order Processing Estimates:

  • Our in-stock items normally ship within 1 to 3 business days after we receive your order.
      • Books
      • Vintage items
      • Jewelry
      • Commercial supplies
  • Made to order items usually require 2 to 5 business days for us to create and prepare your purchase for shipping.
      • Handmade home decor (copper dishes, wall hangings)
      • Christmas ornaments and holiday decorations
      • Handmade supplies
  • If your order will take longer for us to process or create, we'll let you know in advance.

Unless otherwise noted, we ship via United States Postal Service.

  • Orders to addresses in the USA ship via USPS first class or priority mail, depending upon the weight of the item and/or your chosen method.
  • For shipping to other destinations, please inquire.

Share this Product

More from this collection